The Viney Agency


Ben KaneI’ve always been fascinated by military fiction, from Rosemary Sutcliffe’s iconic Eagle of the Ninth to Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe series and Wilbur Smith’s African sagas. Coming from a very scientific household, the craft of writing is not something I ever considered as a child. I loved animals, and my father was a veterinarian, so I thought I’d do likewise. After more than a decade in the workplace, a succession of life events – three years travelling, work in Northumberland near Hadrian’s Wall and disaffection with veterinary medicine prompted me to start writing. Although I thought of several time periods to write about, the Roman Republic/Empire was what came naturally to me.

What started as a hobby quickly became an obsession. I wasn’t happy unless I wrote every day, and for several years, I lived, breathed and dreamed about the Romans, all the while working full time as a vet. In 2006, I was fortunate enough to be signed by Charlie Viney, and the real work began! In 2007, after a lot of sweat and tears, The Forgotten Legion went on the market and was snapped up by Preface, a division of Random House, after a bidding war with 5 other publishing houses. It was published in 2008, and was the 8th highest selling debut hardback fiction work of the year. Since then, the sequel, The Silver Eagle, has been released to critical and commercial success. The last part of the trilogy, The Road to Rome, published in 2010 and was a Sunday Times number 4 bestseller. All of my subsequent novels which concern Spartacus and Hannibal have also been Sunday Times bestsellers.

A major three book contract was signed in 2016 with Orion to publish two books on the epic struggle between Rome and Greece. The first title, Clash of Empires was published in 2018 with the sequel, Clash of Empires – The Falling Sword following in 2019. A third, untitled historical novel will appear in 2020.

'The rising star of historical fiction' - Wilbur Smith

‘A master of Roman military fiction’ - The Times

For more information visit


Clash of Empires
When a new empire rises, an old one must fall.

After sixteen years of bloody war against Rome, Hannibal Barca is on the verge of defeat. On the plains of Zama, Felix and his brother Antonius stand in the formidable Roman legions, ready to deliver the decisive blow. Victory will establish Rome as the pre-eminent power in the ancient world.

But in northern Greece, Philip V of Macedon is determined to restore Alexander the Great's kingdom to its former glory. Charismatic leader, ruthless general, he will use the unforgiving might of his phalanx to unite Greece and to fend off Rome's grasping fingers.

In Rome, young senator Flamininus is set on becoming one of the Republic's greatest military commanders. With Hannibal on the verge of defeat, the as-yet-unconquered Macedon and Greece are ripe for conquest. Strategist and spymaster, politician and general, Flamininus will stop at nothing to bring Philip V to heel.

Demetrios slumps on the rowing bench of his Macedonian ship. Thirsty, hungry, burnt by the unforgiving Mediterranean sun, dreams are his only sustenance. Dreams of the perfect thrust of a fifteen-foot sarissa spear, of the unyielding phalanx wall, of the glory of Macedon.

The Roman wolf has tasted blood, and it wants more. But the sun of Macedon will not set without a final blaze of glory.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Clash of Empires(Orion, 2018); Eagles in the Storm (Random House, 2017); Hunting the Eagles, (Random House, 2016); Eagles of War, (Random House, 2015); The Forgotten Legion (Random House);  The Silver Eagle (Random House); Road To Rome ( Random House); Hannibal: Enemy of Rome, (Random House); Hannibal: The Patrol, (Random House); Hannibal: Fields of Blood, (Random House); Hannibal: Clouds of War, (Random House); Spartacus: The Gladiator, (Random House);  Spartacus: Rebellion, (Random House).