The Viney Agency

TAMARA MACFARLANE

As a child, Tamara Macfarlane practically lived in Blackwells Children's Bookshop in Oxford. Later in Cambridge she read lots more children's books whilst studying English and Education, specialising in Children's Literature.

After a number of years spent as a literacy co ordinator finding ways to encourage children to open up the amazing world inside children's books Tamara had her first child and decided she would like to move back into a children's bookshop. As she couldn't find one that she liked, she founded Tales on Moon Lane in Herne Hill, South London which went on to win Children's Bookshop of the Year in 2008. Tales on Moon Lane then led into the setting up and organisation of a number of children's literature festivals.

After having her second child, she noticed a small gap on the shelves of the 5-8 section and not being able to find anything she really loved to put in it she decided to start writing herself. Amazing Esme’s Fairground Circus was published by Hodder Children's in 2011 with the second and third volumes ¬†Amazing Esme and the Sweet Shop Circus and Amazing Esme and the Pirate Circus published in 2012.

She is currently working on a new series for Hodder Children’s Books.

 

For more information visit: www.amazingesme.com

LATEST BOOK: AMAZING ESME AND THE PIRATE CIRCUS

Roisin McAuley
Sails, whales and high sea adventure await the amazing Esme in her third exciting adventure - perfect for fans of Clarice Bean and Pippi Longstocking.


It's time to send the animals rescued from the pirate circus home. Uncle Mac sets sail with amazing Esme and her fearless cousins on a journey to hot and cold and distant lands - from Scotland to Siberia to Peru! It's a voyage filled with excitement and danger. And dastardly pirates who will stop at nothing to recapture the animals. This is the third of Tamara Macfarlane's Esme stories which are perfect for newly confident readers to read by themselves, or for parents to read aloud. High in action and with plenty of humour, the stories are brought to life by Michael Fowkes' drawings on every double-page spread.

BIBLIOGRAPHY: Amazing Esme and the Sweet Shop Circus (Hodder, 2012); Amazing Esme and the Pirate Circus (Hodder, 2012); Amazing Esme’s Fairground Circus (Hodder, 2011; Fisher, Germany; Catalan)

AUTHORS